Biscuits

So I guess I should eventually talk about the name of my blog, From Scratch. I LOVE making things from scratch. I really hate box mixes (although I do use them from time to time.) Same goes for can frosting. As I said, I do use them from time to time, but it really grinds my gears when I am looking up recipes and the recipe goes like this..

Ingredients
White Cake Mix
Can White Frosting

Directions:
Follow directions on mix box, frost when cooled.

I know USUALLY its a bit more then that, and I totally am down with doctoring box mixes..but seriously guys. I do not keep those in my house. If I am searching the internet for a recipe (which is dumb, considering how many cookbooks I own.) I want to find one FROM SCRATCH. I love making things from scratch. Cakes, cookies, breads, cinnamon rolls, frostings…Cooking I am a little bit more lazy about it, but baking from scratch is the bomb. I have never made biscuits, and as much as Pillsbury knows how to do it right, I figured it was time to do it myself. A friend/co-worker of mine had a baby last week, and my mom proposed we take her family dinner this weekend. So my mom made stew, I made biscuits and we are doing a combined effort on dessert (I made cookies and my mom made brownies!)

If you haven’t figured out, we like this lady and her family a lot.

So, I made biscuits. I used the recipe out of the Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book, partly because I’ve decided to start actually using my cookbooks and partly because I really trust this one.

The first time, I did it precisely as the recipe called for and I felt like the biscuits turned out small and some of them were not beautifully shaped. However, Pillsbury I am not, so that fact doesn’t matter too much.

DSCN3778

DSCN3781
They do taste awesome though. Homemade biscuits, with butter and homemade AK raspberry jam. AKA a rockin’ party in my mouth.

The second batch I rolled out thinner and cut with a wider biscuit round (in my house, this was a pint jam jar the first time and a thermos lid the second time). I also baked them a bit longer.

DSCN3783
You can see the size/uniformity differences pretty obviously…

DSCN3785
Not quite Pillsbury flakey, but close!

Biscuits

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp Vinegar or Lemon Juice
1 C Milk
3 C AP FLour
1 Tbsp Baking Powder
1 Tbsp White Sugar
1 Tsp Salt
3/4 Tsp Cream Of Tartar
1/2 C Butter
1/4 C Shortening

Directions:

1. Combine Milk and vinegar, set aside.
2. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, and stir to combine.
3. Cut butter into small chunks, and add it and shortening to flour mixture. Cut it into the dough with a pastry cutter, until it is crumbly.
3. Add milk mixture to bowl, and mix until just combined.
4. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently until the dough is uniform. You don’t have to knead long.
5. Press or roll out until the dough is about 1/2″ thick. Cut using a biscuit round of your choice. I used a pretty big one the second time around. The first time it was about 2 1/2″.
6. Bake in a 450F oven for 12-14 minutes, until golden brown.

DSCN3772

2 thoughts on “Biscuits

  1. Absolutely grand recipe and lovely post! This is almost exactly like my great grandmothers recipe.. She never said vinegar OR lemon juice, just the lemon juice, MAN I may have to make me some biscuits and gravy Monday morning after we shop tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

